Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I rarely post about beauty. I’ve mentioned the odd beauty product in a post before, but I’m not a beauty blogger, so I’ve never really been one for talking about a beauty product I love. Recently though, with the cold weather and January blues, I’ve been finding an afternoon spritz of my favourite perfume has been lifting my spirits during the day, so today I’m going to talk about beauty – or rather, perfume.

I never used to carry perfume in my handbag, until about a month ago, when I bought a travel size of my perfume in Selfridges during a trip to Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park in London (obviously, I took a trip to Oxford Street as well!)

While I was in Abu Dhabi in November, I tried to buy a top up of my all-time favourite fragrance in duty free – Jean Paul Gaultier’s Fragile. Unfortunately, they didn’t have it, and it is pretty hard to come by in most places (my local Boots no longer stocks it, and Selfridges didn’t have it either) and I haven’t been able to stock up since finishing the 100ml bottle I bought in Tenerife in November 2010. Instead, while in Abu Dhabi, I chose a classic fragrance, aptly named Classique by Jean Paul Gaultier. For the 100ml Eau de Parfum, it was considerably cheaper than here in the UK, and I instantly fell in love, so much so, I’ve worn nothing else since, not even Nina Ricci’s Ricci Ricci, which I also love and stocked up on in Abu Dhabi.

Despite it being the Eau de Parfum, I found the longevity wasn’t great, but while in Selfridges in December, I spotted the 50ml in a gift set with a body wash and body lotion on offer for £47. I bought it, and stored it in my handbag for spritzing during the day at work or while out, and I have to say I really do love this perfume. It’s true what they say about perfume lifting the spirits, and this one really does just that. While I always thought Fragile was my signature scent, I definitely think this has replaced it, even though, I will still be buying another bottle of Fragile when I next visit Tenerife (if indeed the perfume stores out there still stock it).

My other favourites which I occasionally wear when I feel like it include Ricci Ricci, Amethyst by Bvlgari, Eau d’Amour by Jean Paul Gaultier (see a pattern here!?) and Boss Orange by Hugo Boss (a scent that reminds me of the summer and of Tenerife as that is where I first bought it two years ago). So there you have it, my favourite fragrances…

